You say these 5 words? 🙊 Native French speakers don't ❌

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

You say these 5 words? 🙊 Native French speakers don't ❌

Transcript

Instead, we'll say "what do you like to eat?"

How are you doing? I'm doing fine...

In France, the people who still use the word "discotheque" are rather the grandparents.

Hello everyone! Welcome to another French lesson. Today, we are going to talk about words and expressions that you may have learned in your French classes, but that native speakers do not use. Expressions, words that French people don't use in their everyday life in France. We will look at five of them together.

If you are new to this channel, I am Elisabeth. Every week, I post videos to help you progress in French, to help you learn French that is really used and spoken by the French.

Once again this video is sponsored by Lingopie. If you haven't heard of Lingopie yet, you should definitely check out this streaming platform. It's like the Netflix of language learning. You choose a series, a movie or a TV show that interests you and you can watch it with interactive subtitles.

When you click on a word you don't understand, you get a translation in your language. Then, all the words you click on will be added to vocabulary lists and the platform offers games to help you memorize them. You will learn French in its context and this is really the best. It's really the best way to memorize vocabulary or expressions in the long run.

Plus, I'm super happy because one of my favorite French series has just been added to the platform's catalog. You can find it under the name of Desperate parents. In French, this series is called "fais pas ci, fais pas ça". It's a bit of a French "Modern Family".

The platform offers a seven-day free trial and it also offers 65 % off the annual subscription if you use the link in the description.

Let's go back to those vocabulary words or expressions that you may have learned in your French classes, but which are hardly used in France.

🇫🇷 This course will unlock your oral comprehension of French

👉 Through dialogues, I'll teach you to understand the French, even when they talk fast.

🚀 50 everyday dialogues to boost your understanding of French

✅ Understand the French, even when they're talking fast.
✅ Talk with French speakers with confidence.
Improve your French for good with a method based on everyday dialogues.

If you say them, of course, you will be understood. Of course, these words exist, but in use, they are not much used. The first word is the word discotheque, the discotheque. If you use this word, people will certainly see right away that you are not French. In France, the people who still use the word discotheque are rather the grandparents. Today, the word that is really used in everyday life is the box or the nightclub. We will say "go to a club" and not "go to a disco".

The second word that we hear very often among foreigners, but which is a bit outdated in the current language in France, is "boyfriend" for a boy and "girlfriend" for a girl. It's really very, very rarely used. It's a very cute word. If you say it, everyone will understand you. But it's true that in everyday language, we don't use this expression too much. We say "my boyfriend" or "my girlfriend". You will tell me that boyfriend and girlfriend can be confusing.

Indeed, because we also use boyfriend and girlfriend to talk about a friend. Often we will understand that we are really talking about my boyfriend or girlfriend, thanks to the context of the conversation. In colloquial language, we also say my boyfriend and girlfriend. Here, it's slang, it's colloquial language, but it's used a lot when young people talk to each other. When you're a little older, when you're over thirty, you say my partner, or you can also say my partner and my spouse.

Third word, food, food. This is a word that is used to talk about all food in general, but in reality, it is not used much in everyday language. We're usually a little more specific in what we mean. I know that in English, the word "food" is used a lot, but in French, we are going to be a little more specific. For example, in French, we don't say "what food do you like?" Instead, we'll say "what do you like to eat?"

We're going to turn the phrase around in a different way. Again, food is said, but it's more a question of usage here that I'm explaining to you. For example, if you go to a restaurant with Chinese food or Italian food, you're going to say it's a Chinese restaurant or it's an Italian restaurant. We will use this formulation instead.

In French, the word food is used in many expressions, maybe because it is shorter, simpler to say. For example, we will say "fast food", we will talk about "street food" and not about fast food or street food. In colloquial language, with family, with friends, we use a word that is really a synonym for food, but that we will use more often. It's food.

You may have heard it before in TV shows or movies. What are we eating tonight? What food do you have planned for dinner? It's a word that is often used with family and friends.

The next expression is "comme ci comme ça". It's a really cute expression, but I think the only time I've ever heard it was from strangers. If you say it, of course you'll be understood. Some French people use it, but it's not the norm. There are expressions to say the same thing that are more often used. This expression is not naturally used by a French person.

If I ask someone how they're doing, instead of answering like this or like that, they can simply say "I'm fine", but in a somewhat neutral tone, a tone that shows it's not great or very bad. How is it going? Ça va... To say that you are doing moderately well, you can also use the colloquial expression "bof", which is heard much more often than "comme ci comme ça", but which is a little more negative. How is it going? Bof. Another expression that is also used is "so-so". How's it going? Couci-couça. It's a perfect synonym for Comme ci, comme ça, but it's a little more used in France.

Now let's move on to the fifth expression, the fifth wording, which is "isn't it". Often, foreigners are taught to end certain questions with n'est-ce pas. When do we end with n'est-ce pas? It's when you ask a question and you think you know the answer. For example, I mean, "You're learning French, aren't you?" "It's cold, isn't it?" "You cook well, don't you?"

However, in everyday life, in the real use of French, it is very, very rare to hear this expression. Instead, we will use other little words that can be complicated to understand for foreigners. Instead, we'll say "il fait froid, non?" Or "it's cold, right? "You cook well, don't you?" You cook well, right? In reality, the French are going to use these formulations a lot more than they do, aren't they?

That's it for today. Tell me in comments, if there are other expressions that you have learned in your French classes, but that are not used much in reality.

I say to you soon and especially put a like to the video if you liked it.

🇫🇷 This course will unlock your oral comprehension of French

👉 Through dialogues, I'll teach you to understand the French, even when they talk fast.

🚀 50 everyday dialogues to boost your understanding of French

✅ Understand the French, even when they're talking fast.
✅ Talk with French speakers with confidence.
Improve your French for good with a method based on everyday dialogues.

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Free resources that might interest you

Definition of "beauf" in French
Slang
Mathieu

"Beauf" - Definition, French pronunciation

📖 Definition of the word "in-law" The word "in-law" has two meanings. It refers to someone's brother-in-law in a very colloquial language (c'est mon beauf = that's my brother-in-law), and it also refers to someone who is not very distinguished, who

purple petaled flower and thank you card
Expressions
Translation by Deepl

Say thank you in French + examples

Thanking someone in French according to the context Assuming that you are polite, you will have to say thank you at some point. Everyone knows the classic "merci", simple and to the point. It

Videos that might interest you

Videos

Fire on board 🧯- News in Slow French #2

Video transcript A fire on a ship carrying almost 4,000 cars could cause an environmental catastrophe. Welcome to Learn French with News. News is a great way to improve your language skills.

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

fr_FRFrançais
Scroll to Top

You say these 5 words ? 🙊 Native French speakers don’t ❌

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% de réduction sur mes cours de français

Pour une durée limitée, récupère une réduction de 30% sur tous mes cours en t’inscrivant à la newsletter Hellofrench.

Laisse ton prénom et ton email ci-dessous ⬇️

C’est gratuit et tu pourras te désinscrire très simplement 🙏

You say these 5 words ? 🙊 Native French speakers don’t ❌

Transcript

On va plutôt dire “qu’est-ce que tu aimes manger ?”

Comment ça va ? Ça va…

En France, les personnes qui continuent d’utiliser le mot “discothèque” sont plutôt les grands-parents.

Bonjour tout le monde ! Bienvenue dans cette nouvelle leçon de français. Aujourd’hui, nous allons parler de mots, d’expressions que tu as peut-être appris dans tes cours de français, mais que les natifs n’utilisent pas. Des expressions, des mots que les Français n’utilisent pas dans leur quotidien en France. Nous allons voir cinq ensemble.

Si tu es nouveau sur cette chaîne, je suis Elisabeth. Toutes les semaines, je poste des vidéos pour t’aider à progresser en français, pour t’aider à apprendre un français véritablement utilisé et parlé, par les Français.

Une nouvelle fois cette vidéo est sponsorisée par Lingopie. Si vous ne connaissez pas encore Lingopie, vous devez absolument découvrir cette plateforme de streaming. C’est un peu le Netflix de l’apprentissage des langues. Vous choisissez une série, un film ou une émission télé qui vous intéresse et vous allez pouvoir la regarder avec des sous-titres interactifs.

Quand vous cliquez sur un mot que vous ne comprenez pas, vous avez la traduction dans votre langue. Ensuite, tous les mots sur lesquels vous allez cliquer vont s’ajouter à des listes de vocabulaire et la plateforme vous propose des jeux pour vous aider à les mémoriser. Vous allez apprendre un français dans son contexte et ça, c’est vraiment le mieux. C’est vraiment le top pour mémoriser du vocabulaire ou des expressions sur le long terme.

En plus, je suis super contente parce qu’une de mes séries françaises préférées vient d’être ajoutée au catalogue de la plateforme. Vous pouvez la trouver sous le nom de Desperate parents. En français, cette série s’appelle “fais pas ci, fais pas ça”. C’est un peu un “Modern Family” français.

La plateforme offre sept jours d’essai gratuits et elle offre également 65 % de réduction sur l’abonnement annuel si vous utilisez le lien dans la description.

Revenons maintenant à ces mots de vocabulaire ou à ces expressions que vous avez peut-être appris dans vos cours de français, mais qui ne sont quasiment pas utilisés en France.

🚀 Transforme ta compréhension du français en 15 minutes par jour

🇫🇷 Ma nouvelle méthode d’apprentissage basée sur des dialogues du quotidien

Découvre une approche innovante de la maîtrise du français au travers de 45 conversations du quotidien. Améliore ta compréhension du français simplement et apprends du français utile. Idéal pour les étudiants de niveau intermédiaire.

En savoir plus

Si vous les dites, bien sûr, on va vous comprendre. Bien sûr, ces mots existent, mais dans l’usage, ils ne sont pas beaucoup utilisés. Le premier mot, c’est le mot discothèque, la discothèque. Si vous utilisez ce mot, on va certainement tout de suite voir que vous n’êtes pas français. En France, les personnes qui continuent d’utiliser le mot discothèque sont plutôt les grands-parents. Aujourd’hui, le mot qui est vraiment utilisé au quotidien, c’est la boîte ou la boîte de nuit. On va dire “aller en boîte” et pas “aller en discothèque”.

Deuxième mot qu’on entend très souvent chez les étrangers, mais qui est un peu dépassé dans le langage courant en France, c’est “petit-ami” pour un garçon et “petite-amie” pour une fille. C’est vraiment très, très peu utilisé. C’est un mot très mignon. Si vous le dites tout le monde va vous comprendre. Mais c’est vrai que dans le langage quotidien, on n’utilise pas trop cette expression. On dit plus “mon copain” ou “ma copine”. Vous allez me dire que copain et copine peut prêter à confusion.

En effet, parce qu’on utilise aussi copain et copine pour parler d’un ami ou d’une amie. Souvent on va comprendre qu’on parle de vraiment mon copain ou ma copine, grâce au contexte de la conversation. En langage familier, on dit aussi mon mec et ma meuf. Ici, c’est de l’argot, c’est du langage familier, mais qui est beaucoup utilisé quand les jeunes parlent entre eux. Quand on est un peu plus âgé, quand on a dépassé la trentaine on va dire, on dit mon compagnon ou ma compagne, ou aussi on peut dire mon conjoint et ma conjointe.

Troisième mot, la nourriture, de la nourriture. C’est un mot qu’utilise pour parler de toute l’alimentation en général, mais en réalité, on l’utilise assez peu dans le langage courant. On est en général un peu plus spécifique dans ce qu’on veut dire. Je sais qu’en anglais, le mot “food” est énormément utilisé, mais en français, on va être un peu plus précis. Par exemple, en français, on ne va pas dire “quelle nourriture aimes-tu ?” Mais on va plutôt dire “qu’est-ce que tu aimes manger ?”

On va tourner la phrase d’une manière différente. À nouveau, nourriture se dit, mais c’est plutôt une question d’usage ici que je vous explique. Par exemple si on va dans un restaurant avec de la nourriture chinoise ou de la nourriture italienne, on va plutôt dire c’est un restaurant de cuisine chinoise ou c’est un restaurant de cuisine italienne. On va plutôt utiliser cette formulation.

En français, le mot food revient d’ailleurs dans de nombreuses expressions, peut-être parce qu’il est plus court, plus simple à dire. Par exemple, on va dire un “fast food”, on va parler de “street food” et pas de nourriture rapide ou de nourriture de la rue, de nourriture de rue. En langage familier, avec sa famille, avec ses amis, on utilise un mot qui est vraiment un synonyme de nourriture, mais qu’on va utiliser plus souvent. C’est de la bouffe.

Vous l’avez peut-être déjà entendu dans des séries ou dans des films. Qu’est-ce qu’on bouffe ce soir ? Quelle bouffe tu as prévu pour le dîner ? C’est un mot qu’on utilise très souvent avec sa famille ou avec ses amis.

L’expression suivante est “comme ci comme ça”. C’est une expression vraiment très mignonne, mais je pense que les seules fois où je l’ai entendue, c’était dans la bouche de personnes étrangères. Si vous le dites, évidemment, on va vous comprendre. Certains Français l’utilisent, mais ce n’est pas la norme. Il y a des expressions pour dire la même chose qui sont plus souvent utilisées. Cette expression n’est pas naturellement utilisée par un Français.

Si je demande à quelqu’un comment ça va, au lieu de répondre comme ci comme ça, il peut répondre tout simplement “ça va”, mais sur un ton un peu neutre, un ton qui montre que ce n’est ni super, ni très mal. Comment ça va ? Ça va… Pour dire qu’on va moyennement bien, on peut aussi utiliser l’expression familière “bof”, qui est beaucoup plus entendue que comme ci comme ça, mais qui a un petit peu plus négative. Comment ça va ? Bof. Une autre expression qui est aussi utilisée fait couci-couça. Comment ça va ? Couci-couça. C’est un synonyme parfait de Comme ci, comme ça, mais qui est un peu plus utilisé en France.

Passons maintenant à la cinquième expression, à la cinquième formulation, c’est “n’est-ce pas”. Souvent, on apprend aux étrangers à terminer certaines questions par n’est-ce pas. Quand on termine par n’est-ce pas ? C’est quand on pose une question dont on croit connaître la réponse. Par exemple, je veux dire : “tu apprends le français, n’est ce pas ?” “Il fait froid, n’est ce pas ?” “Tu cuisines bien, n’est ce pas ?”

Pourtant, au quotidien, dans l’usage réel du français, c’est très, très rare d’entendre cette expression. On va plutôt utiliser d’autres petits mots qui peuvent être compliqués à comprendre pour les étrangers. On va plutôt dire “il fait froid, non ?” Ou alors “il fait froid, hein ? “Tu cuisines bien, non ?” Tu cuisines bien, hein ? Dans la réalité, les Français vont beaucoup plus utiliser ces formulations que n’est-ce pas ?

Voilà, c’est terminé pour aujourd’hui. Dites-moi en commentaire, s’il y a d’autres expressions qu’on vous a appris dans vos cours de français, mais qui ne s’utilisent pas beaucoup dans la réalité.

Je vous dis à bientôt et surtout mettez un j’aime à la vidéo si elle vous a plu.

🚀 Transforme ta compréhension du français en 15 minutes par jour

🇫🇷 Ma nouvelle méthode d’apprentissage basée sur des dialogues du quotidien

Découvre une approche innovante de la maîtrise du français au travers de 45 conversations du quotidien. Améliore ta compréhension du français simplement et apprends du français utile. Idéal pour les étudiants de niveau intermédiaire.

En savoir plus

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Articles qui pourraient t'intéresser

Illustration de l'expression c'est ouf
Argot
Mathieu

“Ouf, c’est ouf” – Définition, prononciation en français

📖 Définition de l’expression “Ouf / C’est ouf” L’expression “C’est ouf’” signifie que quelque chose est fou, surprenant, presque incroyable. Il s’agit du mot “fou” en verlant, à l’envers. Quand on dit que quelqu’un est “ouf”, c’est qu’il est incroyable,

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES – French idiom : Noyer le poisson

Transcript de la vidéo Bienvenue dans ce format de vidéo où nous voyons en quelques minutes une expression française. Alors aujourd’hui, on va voir l’expression noyer le poisson. Cette expression est un peu étrange parce que noyer un poisson, en

Vidéos qui pourraient t'intéresser

en_USEnglish
Retour en haut