BREAKFAST IN FRANCE (croissant, baguette, cereals, fruit juice, etc.)

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

BREAKFAST IN FRANCE (croissant, baguette, cereals, fruit juice, etc.)

In this video, I talk about breakfast in France. You will learn vocabulary words about food in France and a little bit of French culture 🙂 If you liked the video, feel free to like it and subscribe to the channel, it encourages me a lot ! Thanks

  • 0:00 - Introduction
  • 0:54 - The pastries
  • 1:55 - French toast
  • 3:08 - The bread
  • 4:00 - Butter
  • 4:36 - The fruit jam
  • 5:00 - Cereals
  • 6:30 - The eggs
  • 7:04 - Drinks (fruit juice, tea, coffee...)
  • 7:58 - Conclusion

Quiz

Test your understanding of the video. Take the quiz on breakfast in France! 

Start the Quiz!
From this list, select the pastries:
Check all that apply.
Where can I buy bread and pastries?
What ingredients are needed to make French toast?
Among these drinks, which ones do the French drink at breakfast?
We talked about breakfast in this video. Do you know the other meals in France? Check all the right answers.
What is the opposite of "sweet"?
Receive your result by email
Email address
Check your answers
See the correction

Transcript video breakfast in France

Hello to all of you. I hope you are well. So today, we are going to talk about breakfast. Breakfast in France is the first meal of the day. In this video, you will learn new words about food, about food in French. But you will also be able to discover things about the French culture, about what we eat in France.

Before you start, don't forget to activate the French subtitles. It will be easier for you to understand the video.

Don't forget to subscribe to the HelloFrench channel to follow all the videos.

The first thing to know about breakfast in France is that the French love viennoiseries. So what are "viennoiseries"? Viennoiseries are foodstuffs, food that you can find at the bakery, so it's a bit between breads and pastries. So it's going to be, for example, a croissant, a pain au chocolat, a brioche or even chouquettes.

These are very fatty and very sweet foods, so, as you can imagine, the French don't really eat this every day because it's really not very healthy and then, it would mean going to the bakery every morning to get a pastry. On a daily basis, we don't really eat this, it's more for the weekend or for special occasions, or when we don't have time to have breakfast at home and we quickly go to the bakery before going to work.

Another traditional breakfast in France is French toast, which is French for "pain perdu". French toast, we call it that because in fact, we're going to use bread that would be lost, so we would have to throw it away if we didn't make this recipe. Because in fact, we take sliced bread that is several days old, that has hardened a little bit, that has become stale. So, we're going to take this bread, we're going to soak it in a container with milk. Then we'll soak it in another container with an egg that we've beaten and then we'll put it in a frying pan with a little butter.

We're going to cook it on both sides and once it's ready, we sprinkle with a little bit of sugar. So again, we don't really eat this every day, it's a traditional breakfast, but it's true that we'll do this quite rarely. First of all because in the morning, we don't often have time to cook.

What do we really eat for breakfast every day in France? Of course, there is the traditional baguette of bread.

So often, we have this cliché, this stereotype of the French walking around with a baguette under their arm. So it's really an image, the French don't do that, but on the other hand, the French really do eat a lot of baguette. So in the morning, we can also find another type of bread, sliced bread. It can be for example country bread, bread with seeds. In the morning, you can also eat rusks. Rusk is like toast, small rectangles or squares of already toasted bread, quite hard. So we buy it at the supermarket, already packed.

On the baguette, the sliced bread or the rusks, we will generally eat, put butter. In France, there are several types of butter, therefore different kinds of butter. There is sweet butter, semi-salted butter and salted butter. So, you can imagine, in the sweet butter, there is no salt in the semi-salt, there is a little salt in the salted butter, there is a lot of salt, so it has a salty taste. Often, we will also put jam on our toast or on this bread. It can be strawberry jam, orange jam, apricot jam or, for example, cherry jam.

Another very common breakfast in France is cereal. I think all over the world, it's a very common breakfast. So, kids will pretty much eat cereal every day. So in a bowl, they will put cereal with cold milk. But often, adults also eat cereal. For example, in the morning, I like to have muesli. Muesli is oatmeal with seeds and dried fruits and I will put it in milk, yogurt or cottage cheese.

So cottage cheese is kind of like yogurt, but it's a little bit thicker, a little bit more consistent. It also has more protein, so it gives you a little more energy for the day. I'll put muesli with, for example, yogurt and I'll cut up pieces of fruit and I'll put them in a bowl. For example, in the summer, I'll take peaches or apricots. And in the winter, apples or bananas.

As you can see, in France, the classic breakfast is rather sweet. In other countries, we eat salty things for breakfast. But it's true that I also like to eat salty food in the morning. For example, I'll put a little cheese on bread or I'll make myself boiled eggs with "mouillettes". So the "mouillettes" are little sticks of bread that you dip in the egg or I also like to make fried eggs.

But it's true that in France, it's not the norm, it's not common to do that in the morning or on the weekend when you have a little more time. So, for drinks in general, adults will have a coffee or a tea.

Kids, they'll take cocoa powder in milk instead. So it can be a hot chocolate or cold milk with cocoa. Very often in France too, we will have a glass of fruit juice with our breakfast.

The most common is orange juice. You can either buy it in bricks at the supermarket or in bottles, or you can squeeze it yourself, so you have fresh orange juice. So, we make it ourselves in the morning. But there are also other tastes for fruit juices, like grapefruit juice or apple juice, for example.

That's it for today, I hope you were able to learn some new vocabulary words about food in French, but also that you were able to learn some new things about the French culture and especially the culinary culture of food in France. If you liked the video, don't hesitate to put a like and above all, subscribe to the channel to see more content. See you soon.

🇫🇷 This course will unlock your oral comprehension of French

👉 Through dialogues, I'll teach you to understand the French, even when they talk fast.

🚀 50 everyday dialogues to boost your understanding of French

✅ Understand the French, even when they're talking fast.
✅ Talk with French speakers with confidence.
Improve your French for good with a method based on everyday dialogues.

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Free resources that might interest you

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 3 MINUTES - French idiom: Taking a step back

Transcript Hi everyone, hope you're doing well. Welcome to another video where we're going to look at a French expression in a few minutes. Today, we're going to look at the expression take a step back. This expression was requested by a

man and woman near grass field
Expressions
Mathieu

How to say I love you in French ❤️

Whether you are writing a love letter or saying je t'aime to your partner, French offers a multitude of words and expressions to express your love. Discover the different ways to say I love you in French.

Videos that might interest you

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

fr_FRFrançais
Scroll to Top

LE PETIT DÉJEUNER EN FRANCE (croissant, baguette, céréales, jus de fruits, etc)

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% de réduction sur mes cours

Abonne-toi à ma newsletter et reçois 30% de réduction sur mes cours. 

Laisse ton prénom et ton email ci-dessous ⬇️

LE PETIT DÉJEUNER EN FRANCE (croissant, baguette, céréales, jus de fruits, etc)

Dans cette vidéo, je vous parle du petit déjeuner en France. Vous y apprendrez des mots de vocabulaire sur la nourriture en France et un petit bout de la culture française 🙂 Si vous avez aimé la vidéo, n’hésitez pas à la liker et vous abonner à la chaine, cela m’encourage beaucoup !! Merci

  • 0:00 – Introduction
  • 0:54 – Les viennoiseries
  • 1:55 – Le pain perdu
  • 3:08 – Le pain
  • 4:00 – Le beurre
  • 4:36 – La confiture de fruits
  • 5:00 – Les céréales
  • 6:30 – Les oeufs
  • 7:04 – Les boissons (jus de fruits, thé, café…)
  • 7:58 – Conclusion

Quiz

Testez votre compréhension de la vidéo. Répondez au quiz sur le petit-déjeuner en France ! 

Démarrer le Quiz !
Dans cette liste, sélectionnez les viennoiseries :
Cochez toutes les bonnes propositions.
Où peut-on acheter du pain et des viennoiseries ?
Quels sont les ingrédients nécessaires pour faire du pain perdu ?
Parmi ces boissons, lesquels boivent les français au petit-déjeuner ?
Nous avons parlé du petit-déjeuner dans cette vidéo. Connaissez-vous les autres repas en France ? Cochez toutes les bonnes réponses.
Quel est l'opposé de "sucré" ?
Recevez votre résultat par email
Adresse Email
Vérifiez vos réponses
Voir la correction

Transcript vidéo petit-déjeuner en France

Bonjour à toutes et tous. J’espère que vous allez bien. Alors aujourd’hui, nous allons parler ensemble du petit-déjeuner. Le petit-déjeuner en France, c’est le premier repas de la journée. Dans cette vidéo, vous allez apprendre des nouveaux mots sur la nourriture, sur les aliments en français. Mais vous allez pouvoir aussi découvrir des choses sur la culture française, sur ce qu’on mange en France.

Avant de commencer, n’oubliez pas d’activer les sous titres en français. Ça sera plus facile pour vous de comprendre la vidéo.

Pensez aussi à vous abonner à la chaîne HelloFrench pour suivre toutes les vidéos.

La première chose à savoir sur le petit-déjeuner en France, c’est que les Français adorent les viennoiseries. Alors, qu’est-ce que c’est “les viennoiseries”? Les viennoiseries, ce sont des aliments, de la nourriture qu’on trouve à la boulangerie, donc c’est un peu entre des pains et des pâtisseries. Donc ça va être, par exemple, un croissant, un pain au chocolat, une brioche ou encore des chouquettes.

Ce sont des aliments très gras et très sucrés, donc, vous vous en doutez, les Français ne mangent pas ça réellement tous les jours parce que ce n’est vraiment pas très sain et puis, ça voudrait dire aller tous les matins à la boulangerie pour chercher sa viennoiserie. Au quotidien, on ne va pas vraiment manger ça, c’est plutôt pour le week-end ou pour des occasions spéciales, ou quand on n’a pas le temps de petit-déjeuner chez soi et qu’on passe vite à la boulangerie avant d’aller au travail.

Un autre petit-déjeuner traditionnel en France, c’est les french toasts, c’est le pain perdu en français. Du pain perdu, on appelle ça comme ça parce qu’en fait, on va utiliser du pain qui serait perdu, donc on devrait jeter si on ne faisait pas cette recette. Parce qu’en fait, on prend du pain tranché qui date d’il y a plusieurs jours, qui a un peu durci, un peu rassis. Donc, on va prendre ce pain, on va le tremper dans un récipient avec du lait. Ensuite, on va le tremper dans un autre récipient avec un œuf qu’on aura battu et ensuite, on va le mettre dans une poêle avec un peu de beurre.

On va le faire cuire des deux côtés et une fois que c’est prêt, on saupoudre avec un peu de sucre. Donc à nouveau, on ne mange pas vraiment ça tous les jours, c’est un petit-déjeuner traditionnel, mais c’est vrai qu’on va faire ça assez rarement. Déjà parce que le matin, on n’a pas souvent le temps de cuisiner.

Qu’est-ce qu’on va réellement manger au quotidien, tous les jours pour le petit-déjeuner en France ? Bien sûr, il y a la traditionnelle baguette de pain.

Alors souvent, on a ce cliché, ce stéréotype des Français qui se promènent avec une baguette en dessous du bras. Donc, c’est vraiment une image, les Français ne font pas ça, mais par contre, les Français mangent vraiment beaucoup de baguette. Donc le matin, on peut aussi retrouver un autre type de pain, donc le pain en tranches, le pain tranché. Cela peut par exemple être du pain de campagne, du pain avec des graines. Le matin, on peut aussi manger des biscottes. Alors des biscottes, c’est comme des tartines, des petits rectangles ou carrés de pain déjà grillés, assez durs. Donc ça, on va l’acheter au supermarché, déjà emballé.

Sur la baguette, le pain tranché ou les biscottes, on va généralement manger, mettre du beurre. En France, il y a plusieurs types de beurre donc différentes sortes de beurre. Il y a du beurre doux, du beurre demi-sel et du beurre salé. Donc, vous vous en doutez, dans le beurre doux, il n’y a pas de sel dans le demi-sel, il y a un petit peu de sel dans le beurre salé, il y a beaucoup de sel, donc ça a un goût salé. Souvent aussi, on va mettre sur ses tartines ou sur ce pain de la confiture. Ça peut être de la confiture de fraises, de la confiture d’orange, de la confiture d’abricot ou encore, par exemple, de la confiture de cerise.

Un autre petit-déjeuner très fréquent en France, ce sont les céréales. Je pense que partout dans le monde, c’est un petit-déjeuner très courant. Donc, les enfants vont quasiment manger des céréales tous les jours. Donc dans un bol, ils vont mettre des céréales avec du lait froid. Mais souvent, les adultes mangent aussi des céréales. Par exemple, moi, souvent le matin, j’aime bien prendre du muesli. Le muesli ce sont des flocons d’avoine avec souvent des graines et des fruits secs et je vais les mettre soit dans du lait, soit dans du yaourt, soit dans du fromage blanc.

Alors, le fromage blanc, c’est un peu comme du yaourt, mais c’est un peu plus épais, un peu plus consistant. Il y a aussi plus de protéines, donc ça vous donne un peu plus d’énergie pour la journée. Je vais mettre du muesli avec par exemple du yaourt et je vais couper des morceaux de fruits et je vais les mettre dans un bol. Par exemple, l’été, je vais prendre des pêches ou des abricots. Et l’hiver, plutôt des pommes ou des bananes.

Vous l’avez compris, en France, le petit-déjeuner classique est plutôt sucré. Dans d’autres pays, on va manger plutôt des choses salées pour le petit-déjeuner. Mais c’est vrai que moi, j’aime bien aussi manger salé le matin. Par exemple, je vais mettre un peu de fromage sur du pain ou je vais me faire des œufs à la coque avec des mouillettes. Donc les mouillettes, ce sont des petits bâtonnets de pain qu’on va tremper dans l’œuf ou j’aime bien aussi faire des œufs sur le plat.

Mais c’est vrai qu’en France, ce n’est pas la norme, ce n’est pas courant de faire ça le matin ou alors le week-end quand on a un peu plus de temps. Donc, pour les boissons en général, les adultes vont prendre un café ou un thé.

Les enfants, ils vont plutôt prendre du cacao en poudre dans du lait. Donc ça peut faire un chocolat chaud ou du lait froid avec du cacao. Très souvent en France aussi, on va prendre un verre de jus de fruits avec son petit déjeuner.

Le plus courant, c’est le jus d’orange. On peut soit l’acheter en brique au supermarché ou en bouteille, soit on peut le presser soi-même, donc avoir du jus d’orange frais. Donc, on le fait soi-même le matin. Mais il existe aussi d’autres goûts pour les jus de fruits, comme le jus de pamplemousse ou le jus de pomme, par exemple.

Voilà, c’est fini pour aujourd’hui, j’espère que vous avez pu apprendre des nouveaux mots de vocabulaire sur la nourriture en français, mais aussi que vous avez pu apprendre de nouvelles choses sur la culture française et surtout la culture culinaire de l’alimentation en France. Si vous avez aimé la vidéo, n’hésitez pas à mettre un like et surtout, abonnez vous à la chaîne pour voir plus de contenu. À très bientôt.

🇫🇷 Ce cours va débloquer ta compréhension orale du français

👉 Grâce à des dialogues, je vais t’apprendre à comprendre les Français, même quand ils parlent vite.

🚀 50 dialogues du quotidien pour booster ta compréhension du français

✅ Comprends les Français, même quand ils parlent rapidement.
✅ Parle avec les francophones en toute confiance.
Améliore durablement ton français avec une méthode basée sur des dialogues du quotidien.

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Articles qui pourraient t'intéresser

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES – French idiom : Toucher du bois

Transcript Salut tout le monde, j’espère que vous allez bien, je vous retrouve aujourd’hui pour une nouvelle vidéo très courte où nous allons voir ensemble une expression française en quelques minutes. Aujourd’hui, nous allons voir l’expression toucher du bois. C’est

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES – French idiom : Boire des coups

Transcript de la vidéo Bonjour tout le monde, j’espère que vous allez bien. Aujourd’hui, je vous retrouve pour une nouvelle vidéo sur une expression française. L’expression que nous allons voir aujourd’hui est assez familière. C’est boire des coups. Santé. Boire

Vidéos qui pourraient t'intéresser

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% de réduction sur mes cours

Abonne-toi à ma newsletter et reçois 30% de réduction sur mes cours. 

Laisse ton prénom et ton email ci-dessous ⬇️

en_USEnglish
Retour en haut