FRENCH SPOKEN IN EVERYDAY LIFE VS. ACADEMIC FRENCH - 9 DIFFERENCES

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

FRENCH SPOKEN IN EVERYDAY LIFE VS. ACADEMIC FRENCH - 9 DIFFERENCES

In this video, I explain the differences between academic French and French spoken in "real life". Through 9 expressions, I show you what is different in each situation.

If you liked the video, don't hesitate to like it and subscribe to the channel, it encourages me a lot ! Thanks

0:00 - Introduction
0:32 - The negation
2:23 - These are
3:48 - "You" becomes "T
4:45 - "I" becomes "I
5:57 - "There is" becomes "There is
7:21 - This one / That one
8:17 - Please
9:09 AM - What is this?
9:51 - The bill
10:44 - Conclusion

Video transcript differences spoken language vs. academic French

Good morning to all of you. I hope you are well and that you are having a nice day. Today, we are going to see together 9 differences between written French, correct French and the way we speak it. Before you start, remember to activate the subtitles to make it easier to understand this video. Don't forget to subscribe to the Hellofrench channel so you don't miss any video.

The first difference that we will see concerns the negation in French, the difference between the negation, the way we write the negation and the way we mark it, we signal it orally. In French when we make a negative sentence, we will find "ne" and a little further "pas" or "n" "pas". So the "n" apostrophe. For example, I will say I am not hungry or you do not listen to me. The "ne" becomes an "n'" when a word with a vowel comes after. Here, for example, it is "je n'ai". The vowels in French are a e i o u and the y.

The difference that we will have between the negation in writing and in speaking is that very often, in speaking, the French will remove the "ne" or the "n'". Instead of saying "je n'ai pas faim", we will often say "j'ai pas faim" or instead of saying "tu ne m'écoutes pas" I will say "tu m'écoutes pas". The negation will only be marked by the "not".

The second difference is "c'est" and "ce sont". In correct French, when we write, if we speak in the singular, I will say "c'est mon chien". If I speak in the plural, I will say "ce sont mes chiens". I will say "c'est Catherine" because there is only one person, but if there are two people, I will say "ce sont Catherine et Vincent".

Very often, in speech, instead of marking the plural by putting, what is logical to grant the verb in the plural, we will very often say "it is" all the time. For example, I will say "it's my dogs", "it's Catherine and Vincent". So, of course, it's a mistake since we should normally agree, but in oral language, that's very often how we speak.

The third difference between written and spoken French concerns the "tu" which becomes an apostrophe "t" in spoken French. For example, in correct French, I would normally say "tu es content" or "tu a du temps pour m'aider?

Very often, when speaking, "you" will turn into "you." So instead of saying "are you happy?", I'll say "are you happy?" or instead of saying "do you have time to help me?" I'm going to say "do you have time to help me?"

The next difference is that the "I" becomes the apostrophe "j". Sometimes, the "I" becomes "j'" in front of vowels. This is quite normal. For example, I'll say "I'm fine", but I'll say "I have blond hair", so that's normal, that's correct French, both in writing and in speaking.

But very often, the "I" will become "j'" so j even in front of consonants, for example, instead of saying "I want a glass of water", I will say "I want a glass of water" or instead of saying "I am fine", I will say "I am fine".

The next difference concerns the expression "il y a", which becomes "y a" in spoken French. This expression "il y a" in French is used in different contexts, in different situations. The first one is to talk about a past event. For example, I can say "I got my license two years ago". It can also be used to refer to something in the context, something or someone even, in the present context, in what is happening.

For example, I can say "there are two pastries in the fridge, choose your favorite".

Very often, the "there is" will be contracted to be said more quickly. We will say "there is" for example I will say "I got my license two years ago". Or "there are two pastries in the fridge, choose your favorite". The next difference is that "this one" and "that one" become "this one" and "that one" when spoken. For example, if someone asks me "do you want some cheese?" I can answer "yes, this one, oh no, rather that one".

A lot of times we'll contract the word and I'll respond if asked the same question "do you want cheese?" I'll say "yes, this one, oh no, more like this one."

The next difference is the expression "please". Please is a polite word when you are on first-name terms with someone, when you are on first-name terms with someone, the most polite version is "please" but when you are on first-name terms with the person, you say "please".

"Please," turns into "please." For example, instead of saying "Can I please have a glass of water?", I will say "Can I please have a glass of water?"

The next difference is "what is" which very often, in speech, turns into "what". For example, instead of saying "what do you want to eat?" I will say "what do you want to eat?". "What do you like better? Pizza or pasta?" I'll say "what do you prefer? Pizza or pasta?" We often delete the "that" in speaking.

The next difference is the French "oui". "Oui" the opposite of "non". Very often, when French people speak, "oui" will turn into "ouais". For example, if I ask you "are you learning French?" You may answer "yeah, I'm learning French" instead of saying "yes, I'm learning French."

Like I said, it's in colloquial language. You can't say that in a restaurant or with your boss. Besides, in French, there are many different ways to say "yes", to show that you agree depending on the context. I will soon make a new video to explain and teach you different ways to say "yes" depending on the context, the situation, the person you are talking to. That's it for today.

I hope you enjoyed this video. If you liked it, put a like and above all, subscribe to the channel to not miss any video.

See you soon.

🇫🇷 This course will unlock your oral comprehension of French

👉 Through dialogues, I'll teach you to understand the French, even when they talk fast.

🚀 50 everyday dialogues to boost your understanding of French

✅ Understand the French, even when they're talking fast.
✅ Talk with French speakers with confidence.
Improve your French for good with a method based on everyday dialogues.

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Free resources that might interest you

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES - French idiom: A hard blow

Transcript of the video Bonjour tout le monde, j'espère que vous allez bien, je vous retrouve pour une nouvelle vidéo dans le format une expression française en quelques minutes avant de commencer, pensez à activer les sous titres en français

Videos that might interest you

Videos

20 FRENCH SLANG EXPRESSIONS USED IN 2021!

In this video, we will see slang words and expressions very used in France in 2021. Slang is very used by French people, learning and especially knowing slang words and expressions is very useful to better

Videos

I take the French citizenship test 🇫🇷

Video transcript Can I get French citizenship? That's what we're going to find out today. Earlier today, I was happily browsing Facebook when I came across an article in the Le

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

fr_FRFrançais
Scroll to Top

LE FRANÇAIS PARLÉ AU QUOTIDIEN VS LE FRANÇAIS ACADÉMIQUE – 9 DIFFÉRENCES

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% de réduction sur mes cours

Abonne-toi à ma newsletter et reçois 30% de réduction sur mes cours. 

Laisse ton prénom et ton email ci-dessous ⬇️

LE FRANÇAIS PARLÉ AU QUOTIDIEN VS LE FRANÇAIS ACADÉMIQUE – 9 DIFFÉRENCES

Dans cette vidéo, je vous explique les différences entre le français académique et le français parlé dans la « vraie vie ». Au travers de 9 expressions, je vous montre ce qui est différent dans chacune des deux situations.

Si vous avez aimé la vidéo, n’hésitez pas à la liker et vous abonner à la chaine, cela m’encourage beaucoup !! Merci

0:00 – Introduction
0:32 – La négation
2:23 – C’est / Ce sont
3:48 – « Tu » qui devient T’
4:45 – « Je » qui devient J’
5:57 – « Il y a » qui devient « Y a »
7:21 – Celui-ci / Celui-là
8:17 – S’il te plait
9:09 – Qu’est-ce que
9:51 – L’addition
10:44 – Conclusion

Transcript vidéo différences langage parlé vs français académique

Bonjour à toutes et tous. J’espère que vous allez bien et que vous passez une belle journée. Aujourd’hui, nous allons voir ensemble 9 différences entre le français écrit, correct et la manière dont on le parle. Avant de commencer, pensez à activer les sous-titres pour rendre la compréhension de cette video plus facile. Pensez aussi à vous abonner à la chaîne Hellofrench pour ne manquer aucune vidéo.

La première différence que nous allons voir concerne la négation en français, la différence entre la négation, la manière dont on écrit la négation et la manière dont on la marque, on la signale à l’oral. En français lorsqu’on fait une phrase négative, on va retrouver “ne” et un peu plus loin “pas” ou “n” “pas”. Donc le “n” apostrophe. Par exemple, je vais dire je n’ai pas faim ou tu ne m’écoutes pas. Le “ne” devient un “n'” quand un mot avec une voyelle vient après. Là, par exemple, c’est le “je n’ai”. Les voyelles en français, ce sont a e i o u et le y.

La différence qu’on va avoir entre la négation à l’écrit et à l’oral, c’est que très souvent, à l’oral, les Français vont supprimer, enlever le “ne” ou le “n'”. Au lieu de dire “je n’ai pas faim”, on va souvent dire “j’ai pas faim” ou au lieu de dire “tu ne m’écoutes pas” je vais dire “tu m’écoutes pas”. La négation va seulement être marquée par le “pas”.

La deuxième différence concerne “c’est” et “ce sont”. Dans le français correct, quand on écrit, si on parle au singulier, je vais dire “c’est mon chien”. Si je parle au pluriel, je vais dire “ce sont mes chiens”. Je vais dire “c’est Catherine” parce qu’il n’y a qu’une seule personne, mais s’il y a deux personnes, je vais dire “ce sont Catherine et Vincent”.

Très souvent, à l’oral, au lieu de marquer le pluriel en mettant, ce sont ce qui est logique d’accorder le verbe au pluriel, on va très souvent dire “c’est” tout le temps. Par exemple, je vais dire “c’est mes chiens”, “c’est Catherine et Vincent”. Donc, bien sûr, c’est une faute puisqu’on devrait normalement accorder, mais dans le langage oral, c’est très souvent comme ça qu’on parle.

La troisième différence entre le français écrit et oral concerne le “tu” qui devient “t” apostrophe à l’oral. Par exemple en français correct, normalement je devrais dire “tu es content” ou encore “tu as du temps pour m’aider ?”.

Très souvent, à l’oral, le “tu” va se transformer en “t'”. Donc, au lieu de dire “tu es content ?”, je vais dire “t’es content ?” ou au lieu de dire “tu as du temps pour m’aider ?” Je vais dire “t’as du temps pour m’aider ?”

La différence suivante concerne le “je” qui devient “j” apostrophe. Parfois, le “je” devient “j'” devant les voyelles. Ça c’est tout à fait normal. Par exemple, je vais dire “je vais bien”, mais je vais dire “j’ai des cheveux blonds”, donc ça, c’est normal, c’est le français correct, aussi bien à l’écrit qu’à l’oral.

Mais très souvent, le “je” va devenir “j'” donc j même devant des consonnes, par exemple, au lieu de dire “je veux un verre d’eau”, je vais dire “j’veux un verre d’eau” ou au lieu de dire “je vais bien”, je vais dire “j’vais bien”.

La différence suivante concerne l’expression “il y a”, qui devient “y a” à l’oral. Cette expression “il y a” en français, elle s’utilise dans différents contextes, dans différentes situations. La première, c’est pour parler d’un événement du passé. Par exemple, je peux dire “j’ai eu mon permis il y a deux ans”. Elle peut aussi s’employer pour désigner quelque chose dans le contexte, quelque chose ou quelqu’un même, dans le contexte présent, dans ce qui est en train de se passer.

Par exemple, je peux dire “il y a deux pâtisseries dans le frigo, choisis ta préférée”.

Très souvent, le “il y a” va être contracté pour être dit plus rapidement. On va dire “y a” par exemple je vais dire “j’ai eu mon permis y a deux ans”. Ou “y a deux pâtisseries dans le frigo, choisis ta préférée”. La différence suivante concerne “celui-ci” et “celui-là” qui deviennent “çui-ci” et “çui-la” à l’oral. Par exemple, si quelqu’un me demande “veux-tu du fromage ?” je peux répondre “oui, celui-ci, oh non, plutôt celui-là”.

Très souvent, on va contracter le mot et je vais répondre si on pose la même question “veux-tu du fromage?” Je vais dire “oui, çui-ci, oh non, plutôt çui-la.”

La différence suivante concerne l’expression “s’il te plaît”. S’il te plaît, c’est une formule de politesse quand on tutoie quelqu’un, quand on le vouvoie, la version la plus polie, on va dire “s’il vous plaît” mais quand on tutoie la personne, on dit “s’il te plaît”.

“S’il te plaît”, se transforme en “s’te plaît”. Par exemple, au lieu de dire “je peux avoir un verre d’eau s’il te plaît ?”, je vais dire “je peux avoir un verre d’eau s’te plaît ?”

La différence suivante concerne “qu’est-ce que” qui très souvent, à l’oral, se transforme en “qu’est-ce”. Par exemple, au lieu de dire “qu’est-ce que tu veux manger?” Je vais dire “qu’est-ce tu veux manger ?”. “Qu’est-ce que tu préfères? Une pizza ou des pâtes?” Je vais dire “qu’est-ce tu préfères? Une pizza ou des pâtes?” On supprime souvent à l’oral le “que”.

La différence suivante concerne le “oui” en français. “Oui” l’opposé de “non”. Très souvent, à l’oral, quand les Français parlent, “oui” va se transformer en “ouais”. Par exemple, si je vous demande “est-ce que vous apprenez le français?” Vous pouvez répond “ouais, j’apprends le français” au lieu de dire “oui, j’apprends le français”.

Comme je vous l’ai dit, c’est dans un langage familier. Vous ne pouvez pas dire ça au restaurant ou avec votre patron. D’ailleurs, en français, il y a énormément de manières différentes de dire “oui”, de montrer qu’on est d’accord en fonction du contexte. Je vais d’ailleurs très bientôt vous faire une nouvelle vidéo pour vous expliquer et vous apprendre différentes manières de dire “oui” en fonction du contexte, de la situation, de la personne à qui vous parlez. Voilà, c’est fini pour aujourd’hui.

J’espère que cette vidéo vous a plu. Si elle vous a plu, mettez un like et surtout, abonnez-vous à la chaîne pour ne manquer aucune vidéo.

A très bientôt.

🇫🇷 Ce cours va débloquer ta compréhension orale du français

👉 Grâce à des dialogues, je vais t’apprendre à comprendre les Français, même quand ils parlent vite.

🚀 50 dialogues du quotidien pour booster ta compréhension du français

✅ Comprends les Français, même quand ils parlent rapidement.
✅ Parle avec les francophones en toute confiance.
Améliore durablement ton français avec une méthode basée sur des dialogues du quotidien.

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Articles qui pourraient t'intéresser

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 3 MINUTES – French idiom : Prendre du recul

Transcript Salut tout le monde, j’espère que vous allez bien. Bienvenue dans cette nouvelle vidéo où nous allons voir une expression française en quelques minutes. Aujourd’hui, nous allons voir l’expression prendre du recul. Cette expression a été demandée par un

Vidéos qui pourraient t'intéresser

Vidéos

Le français de France vs le français du Québec

Transcription de la vidéo Je reviens de Montréal au Québec où j’ai passé quelques jours. Et vous le savez certainement, au Québec, on parle le français. En plus de certains mots qui se prononcent différemment, il y a aussi beaucoup

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% de réduction sur mes cours

Abonne-toi à ma newsletter et reçois 30% de réduction sur mes cours. 

Laisse ton prénom et ton email ci-dessous ⬇️

en_USEnglish
Retour en haut