THE MOST DIFFICULT SPEELING RULES FOR FRENCH NATIVE 🤯

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

THE MOST DIFFICULT SPEELING RULES FOR FRENCH NATIVE 🤯

Transcript

"Among" is always, always, used without "s".

I come to sing you the ballad, the ballad of happy people. Hi everyone, welcome to this new French video.

As you know, French is a very difficult language, with many rules and also many exceptions. The French themselves, when they write, sometimes and even often ask questions about the spelling of certain words or about grammar. Today, we are going to see together the ten most searched queries on the Internet concerning spelling or grammar rules in French.

🇫🇷 This course will unlock your oral comprehension of French

👉 Through dialogues, I'll teach you to understand the French, even when they talk fast.

🚀 50 everyday dialogues to boost your understanding of French

✅ Understand the French, even when they're talking fast.
✅ Talk with French speakers with confidence.
Improve your French for good with a method based on everyday dialogues.

To make this video, I based it on a study done in 2019 called the "Voltaire barometer". I put the source in the description of the video. Before I begin, I would like to tell you about the sponsor of this video who is called Neeva.

You know that it's thanks to the sponsors that I can continue to make quality videos. Neeva is an ad-free, private and of course free search engine.

When you use a classic search engine there are a lot of ads and it can be difficult for us to know which sites are really interesting and which ones have paid to be there. Neeva is also private, which means that it doesn't follow your path. When you are on a classic search engine and, for example, you are looking to buy a vacuum cleaner. I guess you've already noticed. Afterwards, when you go to other sites, you will get advertisements for vacuum cleaners because the search engines will share your searches, share your data with advertisers, with sites.

Neeva doesn't do that. This search engine has other features that I personally find really interesting. When you do a search, you can tell the search engine if you are very interested in this site or not. It will then learn what you like so that it can offer you more interesting results.

When you do a search, for example on a medical subject, you can filter the sites that will appear. For example, you can choose to see only institutional sites.

You also have a space where you can classify your favorite sites. For example, I made a directory to progress in French with sites that I find interesting. This search engine you can add as an extension to your Chrome or Firefox browser, but you can also download it as an application on your Android or iOS phone.

Let's go back to the top ten most searched spelling questions on the Internet.

The first is "can we?" "can we?" or "can we?". When you ask a question, when you make an interrogative sentence with a question mark, you're going to reverse the verb and the subject and you have to systematically put a dash. This is always the case. If you invert the verb and the subject, you need a dash. For example, if I say, "Can you learn French while sleeping?"

You must put a dash between "can" and "we". The subject of this sentence is in the third person singular "on" so "can" will of course be written with a "t". You will never find an "x" ending in the third person singular, it doesn't exist.

So can we with a "t" and a dash?

The second question that many ask is about, of course. Is it written in one word? Can it be written in two words? Does it need a circumflex on the u?

Can I get a glass of water? Sure, make yourself at home. Of course is always written in two words. And when "on" is an adjective synonymous with certain, that is sure and certain, we will always put a circumflex accent, precisely to distinguish it from the preposition "on". "I am on the terrace". On the other hand, "I'm sure of myself with a hat".

The third query we'll look at is on time for me. This is a debatable scripture. Au temps pour moi is exactly "my bad" in English. So it's used to acknowledge that you've said or made a mistake. I passed all my exams, except for geography. Oh no, my bad, I also failed sports. The only spelling validated by the French Academy is "au temps" T E M P S.

The origin of au temps comes from a military expression used when a soldier did not make his move in time and had to start from the beginning.

Ride with one "L" or ride with two "Ls"?

This one, I don't know why, I can never remember it. Every time I have to write the word "stroll", I go back to the internet.

Both are correct with one "L" and with two "L", but they don't mean the same thing. The walk with one "L" means the walk. I go for a walk with my dog or I go for a walk in the mountains.

Ballad with two "L" we will use it to speak about a musical or poetic work. I play a ballad on the guitar. You may know this music. I've come to sing you the ballad, the ballad of happy people. To help you remember, if you need one "L" or two "L's" you can use this. When you like a music, it's very difficult not to listen to it twice.

Let's move on to "among" or "parmis".

Do you spell it with an "S" or without an "S"?

Well, it may seem illogical because it is always used with a plural or at least a singular, but which has a collective value. But "among" as a preposition is always, always, always used without "S".

There is no "s" in among. Among means in the middle of, in. Of all the singers, Beyoncé is my favorite. I look for my friend among the crowd.

Welcome with an "E" or without an "E"?

Both spellings are correct, but they are not used in the same way. When you want to welcome someone by showing joy or several people, you should write "welcome" with an "E".

Welcome is always written with the U E ending. Even if you're talking to more than one person, if you're talking to a boy, it's always U E because what's implied is "I welcome you" or "I welcome you". It is a noun and it is invariable, welcome. For example, I can say welcome to new subscribers to the channel.

By the way, if you are not yet a subscriber, please consider doing so right away and activate the bell so you don't miss any of my videos. On the other hand, "welcome" can also be used as a noun to qualify someone or something that is welcomed with joy.

Breakfast would be nice, I'm very hungry. So here, though, it will change in gender and number. "Welcome" can also be used as an adjective. For example, a raise would be welcome because the cost of gas has gone up. Your opinion would be welcome, I don't know which car to choose. This adjective is used to talk about something that would be timely, that comes at the right time. So it would be necessary at that time.

Seventh most searched query is "when" with a "D" or with a "T".

Again, both spellings are correct, but the two words do not mean the same thing. When with a "D" is a synonym for when. There is a notion of time. When I was a kid, I wanted to be an astronaut. If you can replace it with "when", then it is a "D".

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an astronaut. When "when" is used in questions, then you can replace it with "when?"

When do you go on vacation? When do you go on vacation? That's a "D". Quant with a "t" means "with regard to".

As for my vacations, I will leave in July. As for her skirt, I find it beautiful. As for my vacations, I am going in July. As for her skirt, it is beautiful.

The next one is "in view of" with an "e" in "viewed" or without "E".

"In view of" is always written "V U". It is an invariable expression. It means, in view of. You can also replace it with given. In view of my grades, I will repeat a grade. Given my grades, I'll repeat a grade. People often put an "E" in "view" because they confuse it with another expression. They confuse "in view of" with "in view of". In view of them means in order to, in order to.

In order to participate in The Voice, I take singing lessons. So in order to participate in The Voice, I take singing lessons.

Diagnosis with a "C" or "QUE" for ending. When we talk about the name, a diagnosis, that a doctor will make, we always write it with a "C". So a diagnosis, it will be established when we explain the symptoms of a disease. For example, if I say I have a pain in my right ear, I have a headache and I have a fever. The doctor might say "the diagnosis is...you have an ear infection".

On the other hand, of course, you know, French is never simple. The verb "to diagnose" is well written "Q U E R" in ending. So he diagnoses, if I say, the doctor diagnoses an ear infection, then it's going to be written with "Q U E".

Let's move on to the 10ᵉ most searched query. I send you, "O I E" or "O I S"?

So it's very important to understand that "send" is not the same as "see".

"Send" is a first group verb that ends in "ER", which is not the case for "see". First group verbs in the first person singular of the present indicative always end in "E".

I send, "O I E". So the ending "O I S" does not exist at all. We will write I send 'O I E', you send "O I E S", he sends "O I E" and so on.

That's it for today. I hope you enjoyed this video. If you liked it, of course, put a like and if you are not yet a subscriber, subscribe right away.

See you soon.

🇫🇷 This course will unlock your oral comprehension of French

👉 Through dialogues, I'll teach you to understand the French, even when they talk fast.

🚀 50 everyday dialogues to boost your understanding of French

✅ Understand the French, even when they're talking fast.
✅ Talk with French speakers with confidence.
Improve your French for good with a method based on everyday dialogues.

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Free resources that might interest you

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES - French idiom: Boire des coups

Transcript of the video Hello everyone, I hope you're well. Today, I'm going to join you for another video about a French expression. The expression we're going to see today is quite familiar. It's drinking shots. Cheers. Drink

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES - French idiom: Ça va sans dire

Transcript of the video Hi everyone, hope you're well. Welcome to this new video where we're going to look at a French expression together in a few minutes. Today, we're going to see together the expression "ça va sans dire". Before

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES - French idiom: A hard blow

Transcript of the video Bonjour tout le monde, j'espère que vous allez bien, je vous retrouve pour une nouvelle vidéo dans le format une expression française en quelques minutes avant de commencer, pensez à activer les sous titres en français

Videos that might interest you

The 15 gestures used by the French
Videos

15 GESTURES TO KNOW USED BY THE FRENCH

In this video, I present you the 15 gestures that are very often used in France. These gestures will be useful to better understand your interlocutors and to progress in French. List of the 15 gestures to know 0:00 - Introduction0:47 - Have

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% discount on my courses

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive 30% discount on my courses. 

Leave your first name and email address below ⬇️

fr_FRFrançais
Scroll to Top

THE MOST DIFFICULT SPEELING RULES FOR FRENCH NATIVE 🤯

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% de réduction sur mes cours

Abonne-toi à ma newsletter et reçois 30% de réduction sur mes cours. 

Laisse ton prénom et ton email ci-dessous ⬇️

THE MOST DIFFICULT SPEELING RULES FOR FRENCH NATIVE 🤯

Transcript

“Parmi” s’utilise toujours, toujours, sans “s”.

Je viens te chanter la ballade, la ballade des gens heureux. Salut tout le monde, bienvenue dans cette nouvelle vidéo de français.

Vous le savez, le français est une langue très difficile, avec beaucoup de règles et aussi beaucoup d’exceptions. Les Français eux-mêmes, quand ils écrivent, se posent de temps en temps et même souvent des questions sur l’orthographe de certains mots ou sur la grammaire. Aujourd’hui, nous allons voir ensemble les dix requêtes les plus recherchées sur Internet en ce qui concerne des règles d’orthographe ou de grammaire en français.

🇫🇷 Ce cours va débloquer ta compréhension orale du français

👉 Grâce à des dialogues, je vais t’apprendre à comprendre les Français, même quand ils parlent vite.

🚀 50 dialogues du quotidien pour booster ta compréhension du français

✅ Comprends les Français, même quand ils parlent rapidement.
✅ Parle avec les francophones en toute confiance.
✅ Améliore durablement ton français avec une méthode basée sur des dialogues du quotidien.

Pour réaliser cette vidéo, je me suis basée sur une étude réalisée en 2019 qui s’appelle le “baromètre Voltaire”. Je vous mets la source dans la description de la vidéo. Avant de commencer, je voudrais vous parler du sponsor de cette vidéo qui s’appelle Neeva.

Vous savez que c’est grâce aux sponsors que je peux continuer à faire des vidéos de qualité. Neeva, c’est un moteur de recherche sans publicité, privé et bien sûr que vous pouvez utiliser gratuitement.

Quand vous utilisez un moteur de recherche classique il y a énormément de publicités et ça peut être difficile pour nous de savoir quels sont les sites vraiment intéressants et ceux qui ont payé pour être là. Neeva est également privé, c’est à dire qu’il ne suit pas votre parcours. Quand vous êtes sur un moteur de recherche classique et que, par exemple, vous recherchez à acheter un aspirateur. Je suppose que vous avez déjà remarqué. Après, quand vous allez sur d’autres sites, vous allez avoir de la publicité pour des aspirateurs parce que les moteurs de recherche vont partager vos recherches, partager vos données à des annonceurs, à des sites.

Neeva ne fait pas ça. Ce moteur de recherche a d’autres fonctionnalités que personnellement, je trouve vraiment intéressantes. Quand vous faites une recherche, vous pouvez dire au moteur de recherche si ce site vous intéresse beaucoup ou pas beaucoup. Il va donc ainsi apprendre ce que vous aimez pour par la suite pouvoir vous proposer des résultats plus intéressants.

Quand vous faites une recherche, par exemple sur un sujet médical, vous pouvez filtrer les sites qui vont apparaître. Par exemple, vous pouvez choisir de ne voir que des sites institutionnels.

Vous avez aussi un espace où vous pouvez classer vos sites préférés. Par exemple, moi, j’ai fait un répertoire progresser en français avec des sites que je trouve intéressants. Ce moteur de recherche vous pouvez l’ajouter comme extension à votre navigateur Chrome ou Firefox, mais vous pouvez aussi le télécharger comme application sur votre téléphone Android ou iOS.

Revenons maintenant aux dix questions d’orthographe les plus recherchées sur Internet.

La première est “peut-on ?” “peut on ?” ou “peux t on ?”. Quand on pose une question, qu’on fait une phrase interrogative avec un point d’interrogation, on va inverser le verbe et le sujet et il faut systématiquement mettre un tiret. C’est toujours le cas. Si vous inversez le verbe et le sujet, il faut un tiret. Par exemple, si je dis “peut-on apprendre le français en dormant ?”

Vous devez mettre un tiret entre “peut” et “on”. Le sujet de cette phrase est à la troisième personne du singulier “on” donc “peut” va bien entendu s’écrire avec un “”t. Jamais vous ne trouverez une terminaison en “x” à la troisième personne du singulier, ça n’existe pas.

Donc peut-on avec un “t” et un tiret ?

La deuxième question que beaucoup se pose, c’est sur, bien sûr. Est-ce que ça s’écrit en un mot ? Est-ce que ça s’écrit en deux mots ? Est-ce qu’il faut un accent circonflexe sur le u ?

Je peux me servir un verre d’eau ? Bien sûr, fais comme chez toi. Bien sûr s’écrit toujours en deux mots. Et quand “sur” est un adjectif synonyme de certain, c’est sûr et certain, on mettra toujours un accent circonflexe, justement pour le distinguer de la préposition “sur”. “Je suis sur la terrasse”. Par contre, “je suis sûr de moi avec un chapeau”.

La troisième requête que nous allons voir est au temps pour moi. C’est une écriture qui fait débat. Au temps pour moi, c’est exactement “my bad” en anglais. Donc on l’utilise pour reconnaître qu’on a dit ou qu’on a fait une erreur. J’ai réussi tous mes examens, à part celui de géographie. Ah non, au temps pour moi, j’ai aussi échoué en sport. La seule orthographe validée par l’Académie française est “au temps” T E M P S.

L’origine de au temps viendrait d’une expression militaire qu’on utilisait quand un soldat ne faisait pas son mouvement dans les temps et qu’on devait recommencer depuis le début.

Balade avec un “L” ou balade avec deux “L” ?

Celui-là, je ne sais pas pourquoi, moi je n’arrive jamais à le retenir. À chaque fois que je dois écrire le mot “balade”, je retourne voir sur internet.

Les deux sont corrects avec un “L” et avec deux “L”, mais ne ils veulent pas dire la même chose. La balade avec un “L” signifie la promenade. Je fais une balade avec mon chien ou je fais une balade en montagne.

Ballade avec deux “L” on va l’utiliser pour parler d’une œuvre musicale ou poétique. Je joue une ballade à la guitare. Vous connaissez d’ailleurs peut- être cette musique. Je viens te chanter la ballade, la ballade des gens heureux. Pour vous aider à retenir, s’il faut un “L” ou deux “L” vous pouvez utiliser ce moyen. Quand on aime une musique, c’est très compliqué de ne pas l’écouter deux fois.

Passons maintenant à “parmi” ou “parmis”.

Est-ce que vous l’écrivez avec un “S” ou sans “S” ?

Eh bien ça peut paraître illogique parce qu’on l’utilise toujours accompagné d’un pluriel ou en tout cas d’un singulier, mais qui a une valeur collective. Mais “parmi” en tant que préposition, s’utilise toujours, toujours, toujours sans “S”.

Il n’y a pas de “s” à parmi. Parmi signifie au milieu de, dans. Parmi toutes les chanteuses, Beyoncé est celle que je préfère. Je cherche mon amie parmi la foule.

Bienvenu avec un “E” ou sans “E” ?

Les deux orthographes sont correctes, mais on ne les utilise pas de la même manière. Quand vous voulez accueillir quelqu’un en montrant de la joie ou plusieurs personnes, vous devez écrire “bienvenue” avec un “E”.

Bienvenue s’écrit toujours avec la terminaison U E. Même si vous parlez à plusieurs personnes, si vous parlez à un garçon, c’est toujours U E parce que ce qui est sous-entendu, c’est “je te souhaite la bienvenue” ou “je vous souhaite la bienvenue”. Il s’agit d’un nom et il est invariable, la bienvenue. Par exemple, je peux dire bienvenue aux nouveaux abonnés de la chaîne.

D’ailleurs, si vous n’êtes pas encore abonnés, pensez à le faire tout de suite et à activer la cloche pour ne manquer aucune de mes vidéos. Par contre, “bienvenue” peut aussi être utilisé comme un nom pour qualifier quelqu’un ou quelque chose qui est accueilli avec joie.

Un petit-déjeuner serait le bienvenu, j’ai très faim. Donc ici, par contre, il va changer en genre et en nombre. “Bienvenu” peut également être utilisé comme un adjectif. Par exemple, une augmentation serait bienvenue car le coût de l’essence a augmenté. Votre avis serait bienvenu, je ne sais pas quelle voiture choisir. Cet adjectif, on l’utilise pour parler de quelque chose qui arriverait à point, qui arrive au bon moment. Donc ce serait nécessaire à ce moment là.

Septième requête la plus recherchée, c’est “quand” avec un “D” ou avec un “T”.

À nouveau, les deux orthographes sont correctes, mais les deux mots ne veulent pas dire la même chose. Quand avec un “D” est un synonyme de lorsque. Il y a une notion de temps. Quand j’étais petit, je voulais devenir astronaute. Si vous pouvez remplacer par “lorsque”, alors c’est bien un “D”.

Lorsque j’étais petit, je voulais devenir astronaute. Lorsque “quand” est utilisé dans les questions, alors vous pouvez le remplacer par “à quel moment ?”

Quand pars-tu en vacances ? À quel moment pars-tu en vacances ? C’est bien un “D”. Quant avec un t signifie “en ce qui concerne”.

Quant à mes vacances, je vais partir en juillet. Quant à sa jupe, je la trouve magnifique. En ce qui concerne mes vacances, je pars en juillet. En ce qui concerne sa jupe, elle est magnifique.

La suivante est “au vu de” avec un “e” à “vu” ou sans “E”.

“Au vu de” s’écrit toujours “V U”. C’est une expression invariable. Ça signifie, compte tenu de. Vous pouvez la remplacer aussi par étant donné. Au vu de mes notes, je vais redoubler. Étant donnés mes notes, je vais redoubler. Les gens mettent souvent un “E” à “vue” car ils confondent avec une autre expression. Ils confondent “au vu de” avec “en vue de”. En vue d’eux, ça signifie afin de, dans le but.

En vue de participer à The Voice, je prends des cours de chant. Donc dans le but de participer à The Voice, je prends des cours de chant.

Diagnostic avec un “C” ou “QUE” pour terminaison. Quand on parle du nom, d’un diagnostic, que va faire un médecin, on l’écrit toujours avec un “C”. Donc un diagnostic, il va être établi quand on explique les symptômes d’une maladie. Par exemple, si je dis j’ai mal à l’oreille droite, j’ai mal à la tête et j’ai de la fièvre. Le médecin va peut-être dire “le diagnostic est…vous avez une otite”.

Par contre, bien sûr, vous savez, le français n’est jamais simple. Le verbe “diagnostiquer” s’écrit bien “Q U E R” en terminaison. Donc il diagnostique, si je dis, le médecin diagnostique une otite, alors on va bien écrire avec “Q U E”.

Passons à la 10ᵉ requête la plus recherchée. Je vous envoie, “O I E” ou “O I S” ?

Alors c’est très important de comprendre que “envoyer” ne se conjugue pas comme “voir”.

“Envoyer” est un verbe du premier groupe qui se finit en “ER”, ce qui n’est pas le cas de “voir”. Les verbes du premier groupe, à la première personne du singulier de l’indicatif présent se terminent toujours, toujours en “E”.

J’envoie, “O I E”. Donc la terminaison “O I S” n’existe pas du tout. On va écrire j’envoie ‘O I E”, tu envoie “O I E S”, il envoie “O I E” et cetera.

Voilà, c’est terminé pour aujourd’hui. J’espère que cette vidéo vous a plu. Si elle vous a plu, bien sûr, mettez un j’aime et si vous n’êtes pas encore abonnés, abonnez-vous tout de suite.

À bientôt.

🇫🇷 Ce cours va débloquer ta compréhension orale du français

👉 Grâce à des dialogues, je vais t’apprendre à comprendre les Français, même quand ils parlent vite.

🚀 50 dialogues du quotidien pour booster ta compréhension du français

✅ Comprends les Français, même quand ils parlent rapidement.
✅ Parle avec les francophones en toute confiance.
✅ Améliore durablement ton français avec une méthode basée sur des dialogues du quotidien.

Share this post
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email

Articles qui pourraient t'intéresser

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 2 MINUTES – French idiom: Faire les cent pas

Transcript de la vidéo Salut tout le monde, j’espère que vous allez bien et que vous êtes prêts pour cette nouvelle vidéo en français. Nous allons voir ensemble aujourd’hui une expression. Cette expression c’est “faire les cent pas”. Dites moi

Expressions
Elisabeth

LEARN FRENCH IN 3 MINUTES – French idiom : C’est vu et revu

Transcript Salut tout le monde, j’espère que vous allez bien et que vous êtes prêts pour une nouvelle vidéo de français. Aujourd’hui, nous allons voir ensemble une expression française en quelques minutes. L’expression que nous allons voir aujourd’hui est une

black and gray digital device
Conseils
Melanie

Les formules de politesse par e-mail en français

Maîtriser les formules de politesse françaises n’est pas chose facile. Nous avons l’embarras du choix, et certaines formules peuvent paraître interminables et difficilement compréhensibles à une personne non-francophone. Il est primordial de ne pas les confondre, particulièrement si vous vous

Vidéos qui pourraient t'intéresser

Les 15 gestes utilisés par les français
Vidéos

LES 15 GESTES À CONNAITRE UTILISÉS PAR LES FRANÇAIS

Dans cette vidéo, je vous présente les 15 gestes qui sont très souvent utilisés en France. Ces gestes seront utiles pour mieux comprendre vos interlocuteurs et progresser en français. Liste des 15 gestes à connaitre 0:00 – Introduction0:47 – Avoir

Image illustration Elisabeth newsletter

🎁 30% de réduction sur mes cours

Abonne-toi à ma newsletter et reçois 30% de réduction sur mes cours. 

Laisse ton prénom et ton email ci-dessous ⬇️

en_USEnglish
Retour en haut